University of Liège

© A.Savin
Year of foundation: 1817
Approx. number of students: 25,500
MCI partner since: 2020

The City

Liège is a major Walloon city as well as the capital of the Belgian province of Liège.
The city is situated in the valley of the Meuse, not far from borders with the Netherlands and with Germany. It is the principal economic and cultural center of the region and is the third most populous urban area in Belgium, after Brussels and Antwerp.

The University

The University of Liège (Université de Liège or ULiège), is a public university of the French Community of Belgium and thus its official language is French.
Nowadays the university comprises 11 faculties spread over 4 campuses. Its main campus is Sart-Tilman hill, a vast planned community campus located about ten kilometers south from the center of Liège. However, the university has kept its headquarters and many administrative facilities as well as a variety of faculties in the city centre.
With over 830 exchange and cooperation agreements, the university is very internationally oriented.


We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.